Vogue Knitting Live 2014

20140119-185520.jpg

Soon after I woke up, I looked out my apartment window and it was beginning to snow heavily. Normally I would call it a good day to stay in, curl up on the couch with some hot chocolate & knitting and watch a couple of movies. Instead I had plans of trekking out to the Marriott Marquis hotel in Times Square to attend this year’s Vogue Knitting Live.

I unfortunately waited too late to buy my ticket in advance online, which would’ve been slightly cheaper. But I found a coupon on KnitPick’s website for $10 off purchase of a two day marketplace admission ticket. I didn’t plan on attending both days but with the discount, the price would be the same as if I had bought the one day ticket online. When I got to the ticket booth, somehow the man behind the counter somehow misread the coupon because he only charged me $10 for admission. I’m not one to complain about an unexpected discount so I took my green wristband and kept it moving, LOL!

20140119-193947.jpg

20140119-194352.jpg

I haven’t been to Vogue Knitting Live in about 3 years. The vendors are mostly local knitting shops & some yarn manufacturers. It’s not nearly as large or extensive as the annual Rhinebeck festival. It looks like they’ve expanded a bit over the past few years though, because this year the vendors were spread out on two floors. Even if you’re not into knitting, you could appreciate the gallery of sculptures from fiber artists displayed outside of the gallery.

20140119-195255.jpg

20140119-222844.jpg

I already have a pretty substantial stash of yarn so I wasn’t really looking to stock up. I didn’t want to necessarily leave empty handed either, but it was going to take something spectacular to move me. And as usual, it’s a bargain deal.

20140119-225803.jpg

The 5 skeins in the middle are from Full Moon Farms in upstate Gardiner, NY. The woman at the booth had a trunk full of mill end skeins that normally sell for $25 but were reduced to $10 each. By the time I got there it was a small crowd around the trunk, so I had to put in some work going through the stash & competing with fellow shoppers to find enough skeins to make a project and came up with these. The vendor even took off an additional $5.00 for paying in cash. WIN!

The gray yarn in the bag is from Black Sheep and Ewe The two skeins included are enough to make a beautiful cowl they had on display I unfortunately did not get a picture of. I bought the bag mainly for the pattern, and to try out the new yarn, which the vendors say is good for folks who are sensitive to wool.

The pink yarn on the right is from Freia One of the stalls I was looking forward to checking out, because they have these fabulous hand painted yarn that variegates when knitted up as if you mixed the colors separately. These balls came from their discounted yarn bin. Don’t know what I’ll make with it yet. It’s sport weight yarn, so it will most likely be a shawl or cowl of some sort.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicky
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 09:38:05

    I’d say the excursion was a win! I almost joined you but I don’t think I would have been able to resist the temptation! Great haul. Tell me how Freia works up for you.

    Reply

    • QuaintrelleNoire
      Jan 20, 2014 @ 12:40:20

      Given the prices most of these booths were charging for skeins, you wouldn’t have had too much trouble resisting. I didn’t see folks hauling garbage bags full of yarn out like they do at Rhinebeck, LOL. Most of this will go towards gifts, the Freia I’m keeping for myself, ’cause none of the folks I’d give gifts to would wear fuchsia, lmao!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,421 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

