Why I knit…

20140112-171259.jpg

This is my current work in progress, a large cowl scarf. I could’ve taken the easy route & bought something from a department store, but it probably wouldn’t be a design that I wanted or a material that I would like. Plus I’m one of those folks that looks at something in a store and start mentally deconstructing the pattern thinking, why should I buy this when I could knit it myself, LOL.

I came across the article below while reading my facebook feed. I’d never heard of the term “slow clothes” movement before, which advocates being conscious of where & how clothes are produced. It’s sort of a spinoff of the “slow food” movement that promotes knowing where your food is grown. I can identify with all the reasons the author listed. My primary reason for knitting though is because I often can’t find what I like in the stores. Necessity being the mother of invention I guess.

It’s a short, concise read. I think you’ll agree. I like the idea of making something with my own hands that’s higher in quality than the same item mass produced by machine of often cheaper materials. Though sometimes it’s higher in cost, the time & effort put into creating your own article of clothing, regardless of how small it is, is worth the investment.

What about you? Why do you knit, crochet, sew, quilt or whatever is your hobby?

Why bother knitting a scarf?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicky
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 22:00:34

    I read that article yesterday and I do agree. Sometimes it’s not always cheaper but it’s infinitely more creative and does give an individual the opportunity to contribute to his/her community in a less “mass produced” way.

    Lovely project. :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,449 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

