Homemade Elderberry Syrup

I’ve been hearing a bit more about this home remedy for boosting immunity and treatment of colds & flu. Got even more interested when I read that studies showed elderberry to be just as effective if not more effective than tamiflu for treating the flu. My state is currently experiencing a flu epidemic so although I have my flu shot, I’m always willing to have some extra insurance. Elderberry syrup can be bought at the drug stores for around $15 a bottle. After some google searching, I found out it was pretty easy to make at home.

I ordered a bag of dried elderberries, and following a recipe I found online, I gathered the ingredients together. Elderberries, cinnamon, ginger, cloves & honey.

20140101-143953.jpg

Directions stated to boil the dried elderberries and spices together for about 45 minutes. After letting the mixture cool a bit, strain out the elderberries, then add honey and voila! You have syrup.

20140101-144950.jpg

20140101-145020.jpg

Usual adult dose is about 1 tbsp daily for boosting immunity. If one contracts the flu, take the same dose every 2-3 hours until symptoms subside.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Spinster
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 01:41:03

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,455 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

